Reminder: Fireworks are Illegal on National Park Service Land on Hatteras and Ocracoke

Posted By on July 2, 2021

Cape Hatteras National Seashore reminds visitors and adjacent homeowners that it is illegal to detonate fireworks, or have fireworks in your possession, on all land managed by the National Park Service, including all beaches from the Nags Head border through Hatteras and Ocracoke islands.

In addition to fireworks being illegal and a fire risk to local communities, the personal use of fireworks can be a significant nuisance to humans, pets, and wildlife.

Cape Hatteras National Seashore law enforcement rangers will be patrolling the beaches throughout the upcoming Independence Day weekend.

“Visitors are encouraged to travel to the south end of Ocracoke Island or the National Park Service’s Avon Fishing Pier on Hatteras Island to view the only two permitted fireworks shows within the Seashore,” said David Hallac, National Parks of Eastern North Carolina Superintendent. “Leave your fireworks at home.”

Permitted Fireworks Shows on Hatteras and Ocracoke Islands:

Other towns on the northern Outer Banks have their own rules but the majority of all consumer fireworks are illegal throughout Dare County, including in Kill Devil Hills, where the only type of consumer fireworks that are legal are caps, snakes and glow worms, smoke devices, trick noise-makers, sparklers, and other sparkling devices, such as fountains.

See our full roundup of all July 4th, 2021 fireworks and celebrations happening on the Outer Banks here.


Posted by Matt Artz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *